Post Peace Corps

You got to be very careful if you don’t know where you’re going, because you might not get there.

Yogi Berra

People keep asking what I am going to do after Peace Corps. There is an expectation that after two years here I should have formulated a rigid life plan; that I should be settled on exactly what I need to do for the next few years of my life.

I happily have no rigid plan. I am no closer to knowing what I want to do with my life than before I got here. But that does not mean I am nonchalant about my future. I step into post peace corps life carefully, somewhat peripatetically, but carefully. There are things I do know – I want more education, I want more varied professional experience, I want to live in a pleasant climate – and I will pursue these things concertedly but fluidly. Too rigid a plan leaves one little space to take advantage of those unpredictable opportunities life throws your way. I want to grasp opportunities, not contrived schemes.

Prediction is very difficult, especially if it’s about the future.

Niels Bohr

Luck favors the prepared.

Louis Pasteur

I would rather be picturesquely uncomfortable than comfortably dull.

Wallace Stegner

Leave a Reply

