Skepticism

I wish to propose fro the readers favourable consideration a doctrine which may, I fear, appear wildly paradoxical and subversive. The doctrine in question is this: that it is undesirable to believe a proposition when there is no ground whatever for supposing it is true. I must, of course, admit that if such an opinion became common it would completely transform our social life and our political system: since both are at present faultless, this must weigh against it.

Bertrand Russell – Skeptical Essays 1928

I post quotes by Bertrand Russell and Oscar Wilde on the internet, therefore, I must be supremely cultured and highly intelligent. That or I’m an incredibly pretentious old bore.

Skepticism is the chastity of the intellect, and it is shameful to surrender it too soon or to the first comer: there is nobility in preserving it coolly and proudly through long youth, until at last, in the ripeness of instinct and discretion, it can be safely exchanged for fidelity and happiness.

George Samtayana – Skepticism and Animal Faith

Leave a comment