Duel of Citizenships

9th February 

‘I hate the idea of causes and if I had to choose between betraying my country and betraying my friend I hope I should have the guts to betray my country.’

E.M Forster – Two Cheers for Democracy

Dual citizenship, rather than provide you with twice the joyful allegiance, dilutes your national loyalty. The longer I exercise the use of my US passport, the more I feel unattached to any country (actually I currently hold three valid passports – U.K, U.S and a U.S Peace Corps passport). I feel a privileged citizen of the world, pompous as that may sound, with my blue and red passports seeming like accidentally received and unpurchased winning lottery tickets.

However I write this wearing an England football shirt/soccer jersey and it gets me thinking that I would never wear a US shirt with them same pride or sense of identity it invokes in me. I will never support a team other than England at the World Cup, however much that support disappoints and pains me. So there is my nationalism.

‘All things that I know most surely about morality and obligation I owe to football.’

Albert Camus

 

Leave a Reply

