Packing my mind

My Dad bought me a Kindle to take to The Gambia. I was apprehensive and had pretensions of being a Luddite. I like books, I like treating them with mild disrespect – throwing them, bending them, wiping my mucky hands on them – and making them my own. Whilst you can’t do this with a kindle you can carry a library in it’s 170grams. Also the amount of books you can download for free is friggin amazing.

Books I have downloaded for free and have every intention of reading in The Gambia

  • Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  • Pygmalion – Bernard Shaw
  • The Problems of Philosophy – Bertrand Russell
  • Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte
  • Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  • Robinson Crusoe – Daniel Defoe
  • Crime and Punishment -Fyodor Dostoyevsky
  • A Room with a View – E.M Forster
  • Middlemarch – George Eliot
  • The Great Gatsby – Francis Scott Fitgerald
  • Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  • Metamorphosis – Franz Kafka
  • Thus Spake Zarathustra – Friedrich Nietzsche
  • War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  • Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy
  • Siddhartha – Hermann Hesse
  • Ulysses – James Joyce
  • Little Women – Louisa May Alcott
  • Swann’s Way – Marcel Proust
  • Moby Dick – Herman Melville
  • The Prince – Niccolo Machiavelli
  • The Age of Innocence – Edith Wharton
  • To the Lighthouse – Virginia Woolf

You can find most of these on these sites http://www.openculture.com/free_ebooks 
                                                                   http://www.gutenberg.org/wiki/Main_Page

I have aspirations that reading all this will mean on my return to America post Peace Corps I will arrive an erudite intellectual. Realistically if I read all of those in two years I’m probably going to come back a little weird.

This reminds me of another great resource which I have been using prodigiously –

http://www.openculture.com/freeonlinecourses

It’s a list of links to the best 400 free online university courses on the web – most available through itunes. You can download entire lecture series from Ivy League and Oxbridge Professors on varied subjects from Hannibal to Game Theory. I don’t know if my workload will give me time to listen to 40 hour lecture series on the history of American economics but it can’t hurt to have it on my hard drive just in case.

Leave a Reply

